Ontario Provincial Honour Band

Every year, the Ontario Band Association invites high school students to participate in the Ontario Provincial Honour Band, an auditioned youth band featuring talent from across Ontario. The experience includes four days of intensive music-making, concerts and a special annual performance at the Ontario Music Educators’ Association conference, this year to be held in Hamilton, Ontario.  This year’s ensemble will be conducted by celebrated conductor Dr. Darrin Oehlerking  and will also feature special guest artists, TorQ.

We are pleased to announce that a record 20 of our Symphonic Winds (SW) and Wind Orchestra (WO) musicians are participating in this year’s Honour Band.

Tina Jia, flute (SW)
Unionville High School

Yoyo Jiang, flute (WO)
Bishop Strachan School

Sophia Jiang, flute (WO)
Markham District Highs School

Emily Yeung, flute (WO)
Newton’s Grove School

Keren Zhang, flute (WO)
Newton’s Grove School

Davis Po, oboe (SW)
Aurora High School

Jeffrey Chen, clarinet (SW)
Markville Secondary School

Michael Husu, clarinet (SW)
Newton’s Grove School

Bennett Lai, clarinet (WO)
Markahm District High School

Sophia Wan, clarinet (SW)
Richmond Hill High School

Caleb Wei, clarinet (WO)
Pierre Elliot Trudeau High School

Aeon Wang, tenor saxophone (WO)
Pierre Elliot Trudeau High School

Simrat Dhillon, horn (WO)
Etobicoke School of the Arts

Daniel Qu, horn (WO)
Bayview Secondary School

Amos Lee, trombone (SW)
Bur Oak Secondary School

Vanessa Ng, trombone (WO)
Markahm District High School

Selena Cai, euphonium (WO)
Bayview Secondary School

Erin McNair, euphonium (SW)
Brooklin High School

Julian Cimer, tuba (WO)
Pierre Elliot Trudeau High School

Cindy Zhang, percussion (SW)
Newton’s Grove School

See the full personnel list for the Ontario Provincial Youth Band as well as information about this year’s concert at Counterpoint 2018 in Hamilton, Ontario. The Toronto Youth Wind Orchestra is a proud member of the Ontario Band Association.